Distinctive features

Srimad Bhagavatam has many distinctive features, said P.T.

Seshadri in a discourse. It classifies Lord Narayana’s avataras into three divisions — poorna avataras, kala avataras and chaya avataras. In the first category come the Rama and Krishna avataras — the two avataras known as complete avataras.

In the second category come Matsya, Kurma, Varaha,

Vamana, Narasimha, Parasurama, and Kalki avataras. In the

third category come the following avataras: Narayana,

Hamsa, Hayagriva, Dattatreya, Nara Narayana, Yajna,

Rishaba, Bruthu, Dhanvantri, Mohini, Vyasa, and Kapila.

Every person who claims competence in a field must

necessarily pass a prescribed test. That is usually the norm.

If the pupil who is being tested is Arjuna, naturally his skill in archery will be tested. For soldiers, the battlefield is the

place where they are tested. A husband’s moment of trial

comes when he has problems and how he copes with the

crisis depends on how his wife rallies round. As for a man

who claims to be educated, his test lies in his knowledge and  understanding of Srimad Bhagavatam.

A purana must have five essential features: sarga — which

talks about creation of the world; prati sarga — which talks

about destruction of the world through pralaya (the deluge); vamsa — lineage of all men; manvantra — details of events in different yugas; and vamsaanu charita — which talks of the history of each family. Srimad Bhagavatam has various sections, which will bring happiness to us, if recited. For health and wealth, Narayana Kavacham is recited. To attain one’s desires, one has to observe Pumsavana vrata and  troubles arising due to one’s debts and through enemies are nullified by recitation of Gajendra stuthi.